I’m NOT Your Enemy, I’m Your Sister

I have been noticing something quite disturbing and very sad happening for years now, and that is the lack of true sisterhood and women empowering each other. A huge part of me would like to blame this decline on the role the media in our daily lives. I have to admit at times I find myself in the process of tearing another woman down and for what? What do we as women get from belittling and attacking another woman?

I watch so many of these reality shows and that’s all I see on every single episode. For instance, I was watching a show Sunday night where one woman was given the opportunity to train at another location and audition for acting roles at the same time, which is great. However, when the other women found that their place of work gave her the opportunity, which is rare, they were angry instead of being excited for her. In their minds she was lazy, spoiled, and not a team player because she took the opportunity. I was so baffled because I would love to see one of my friends or co-workers get a chance like that.

I honestly don’t know what happened in society that caused us women to think that we have to compete and belittle each other to get places in life or feel better about ourselves. I feel better seeing other women succeed and just simply carry themselves with dignity and grace. I feel better acknowledging another woman’s success or giving a compliment.

There is no reason for women to be threatened by each other. I feel empowered seeing other women reach their goals or even speak it into existence. Seeing another woman succeed should honestly motivate you to do more and be more.

I know at times we find ourselves subconsciously judging and talking about others and not realize until we are knee deep in it. So, starting today or whenever you read this try to be more uplifting and watch your thoughts and your words. Try to give more compliments and be more encouraging and watch how much better you feel.

Be loving, Be graceful, and Beautiful inside out!

Angel

“Behind every successful woman should be a tribe of women who have her back.” – unknown

2 thoughts on “I’m NOT Your Enemy, I’m Your Sister

Leave a Reply

